To celebrate our birthday we’re offering 10% off all books throughout July!Discount will be applied automatically at checkout.

Goth Girl and the Ghost of a Mouse

Chris Riddell author

Format:Paperback

Publisher:Pan Macmillan

Published:4th May '17

Should be back in stock very soon

Goth Girl and the Ghost of a Mouse cover

A deliciously dark offering from the award-winning author-illustrator of the Ottoline books, now in paperback for the first time!

A deliciously dark offering from the award-winning author-illustrator of the Ottoline books.

Full of adventure and humour, Goth Girl and the Ghost of a Mouse is the beautifully illustrated winner of the Costa Award – presented here in a gorgeous hardcover. From Chris Riddell, author of the Ottoline series, it is perfect for fans of Howl's Moving Castle and Netflix's Wednesday.

Ada Goth is the only child of Lord Goth. The two live together in the enormous Ghastly-Gorm Hall. Lord Goth believes that children should be heard and not seen, so Ada has to wear large clumpy boots so that he can always hear her coming. This makes it hard for her to make friends and, if she's honest, she's rather lonely.

Then one day William and Emily Cabbage come to stay at the house, and together with a ghostly mouse called Ishmael they and Ada begin to unravel a dastardly plot that Maltravers, the mysterious indoor gamekeeper, is hatching. Ada and her friends must work together to foil Maltravers before it's too late!

Though they can be enjoyed in any order, continue this deliciously dark series with Goth Girl and the Fete Worse Than Death and Goth Girl and the Wuthering Fright.

This solo venture is a cracking combination of rollicking mystery adventure and ghost story, beautifully illustrated and written with an outright humour aimed at children and a sly, literary wit aimed at parents reading aloud * Daily Mail *
Quirky, clever and (as ever) marvellously detailed to the eye * Independent *
A deliciously dark offering from the award winning author illustrator of Ottoline * Bookseller’s Buyers Guide *
It is a cracker of a book. Witty, charming and with the most stunning illustrations . . . It is an utter and absolute delight and made me wish I was 10 again and discovering it for the first time * Brighton and Hove Independent *

  • Winner of Costa Children's Book Award 2014 (UK)
  • Short-listed for The CILIP Kate Greenaway Medal 2015 (UK)
  • Short-listed for National Book Awards Children's Book of the Year Award 2013 (UK)

ISBN: 9781447201748

Dimensions: 184mm x 134mm x 21mm

Weight: 212g

224 pages

Unabridged edition