Weasels in the Attic

Hiroko Oyamada author David Boyd translator

Format:Hardback

Publisher:Granta Books

Published:3rd Nov '22

£12.99

Available to order, but very limited on stock - if we have issues obtaining a copy, we will let you know.

Weasels in the Attic cover

Fish-breeding and weasel infestations punctuate this disarming, strange and strangely resonant story of one man's journey toward impending fatherhood, from an award-winning Japanese novelist

A UK debut from a fresh, prize-winning talent, this quietly surreal novel is perfect for fans of Sayaka Murata and Mieko Kawakami -- Two friends meet across three dinners. In the back room of a pet shop, they snack on dried shrimps and discuss fish-breeding. In a remote new home in the mountains, they look for a solution to a weasel infestation. During a dinner party in a blizzard, a mounting claustrophobia makes way for uneasy dreams. Their conversations often take them in surprising directions, but when one of the men becomes a father, more and more is left unsaid. With emotional acuity and a wry humour, Weasels in the Attic it is an uncanny and striking reflection on fertility, masculinity, and marriage in contemporary Japan. -- "Oyamada is in complete control of her talent... A writer flexing their muscles and preparing for something truly profound" - Japan Times

Oyamada is in complete control of her talent... A writer flexing their muscles and preparing for something truly profound * Japan Times *
Surreal and mesmerizing -- Praise for THE HOLE * The New York Times *
[Hiroko Oyamada's] strongest, most memorable work yet... Every scene is deeply unsettling... The book simmers with eerie tension and bursts with unforgettable monologues -- Yurina Yoshikawa * NPR *

ISBN: 9781783789757

Dimensions: 198mm x 129mm x 5mm

Weight: 172g

80 pages