Clytemnestra

The spellbinding retelling of Greek mythology’s greatest heroine

Costanza Casati author

Format:Hardback

Publisher:Penguin Books Ltd

Published:2nd Mar '23

£16.99

Available to order, but very limited on stock - if we have issues obtaining a copy, we will let you know.

This hardback is available in another edition too:

Clytemnestra cover

THE TALE OF A WOMAN THE WORLD SHALL NEVER FORGET . . .

'Vivid with fury, passion and strength, this is a fabulous myth retelling' JENNIFER SAINT
'A blaze of a novel, fiery and furious - and alight with murderous revenge' DAILY MAIL
'A powerhouse of a novel. Clytemnestra's rage, heartbreak and determination radiate off the page' ELODIE HARPER
'A thrilling tale of power and prophecies, and the fierce Queen who fought back at those who wronged her' COSMOPOLITAN, 'The best books to look forward to in 2023'
__________

Mother. Monarch. Murderer. Magnificent.

You are born to a king, but marry a tyrant. You stand helplessly as he sacrifices your child to placate the gods. You watch him wage war on a foreign shore and comfort yourself with violent thoughts of your own.

You play the part, fooling enemies who deny you justice. Slowly, you plot.

You are Clytemnestra.

But when the husband who owns you returns in triumph, what then?

Acceptance or vengeance - infamy follows both. So you bide your time and wait, until you might force the gods' hands and take revenge. Until you rise. For you understood something that the others don't. If power isn't given to you, you have to take it for yourself.

A blazing novel set in the world of Ancient Greece and told through the eyes of its greatest heroine, this is a thrilling tale of power and prophecies, of hatred and love, perfect for fans of ARIADNE and THE SONG OF ACHILLES.
__________

'Strong and immersive. Well-worth plucking from the pile of chiton-lit' THE TIMES

'Casati brings the blood-soaked world of Greek mythology fully alive in this powerful novel' WOMAN & HOME

'A heroine of fierce spirit. With the fire and spark of Madeline Miller and the depths of Mary Renault' MANDA SCOTT

'A passionate picture of a fiercely patriarchal society and her heroine's refusal to be bound by its
rules'
SUNDAY TIMES

'Rivals House of the Dragon in conspiracies and feminine brutality. An electrifying read' ELIZABETH FREMANTLE

'Redefines the mythical retelling genre with a warrior queen who, instead of enduring suffering, avenges it' ANNIE GARTHWAITE

'A thrilling reimagining of an...

Strong and immersive. Well-worth plucking from the pile of chiton-lit * The Times *
Vivid with fury, passion and strength, this is a fabulous myth retelling. A powerful, thought-provoking portrayal of a fascinating and complicated woman framed in beautiful prose. I loved it -- JENNIFER SAINT, bestselling author of ARIADNE and ELEKTRA
Wow! What a powerhouse of a novel. Savage, passionate and absolutely spellbinding. The recreation of Sparta is astonishing - you feel you are with Clytemnestra, completely immersed in the brutal world she inhabits with her siblings, whose complex relationships are drawn with skill and tenderness. Clytemnestra's rage, heartbreak and determination radiate off the page. I was utterly gripped -- Elodie Harper, bestselling author of THE WOLF DEN & THE HOUSE WITH THE GOLDEN DOOR
A blaze of a novel, fiery and furious - and alight with murderous revenge. Like Madeline Miller and Jennifer Saint, Casati offers the female perspective on the old, patriarchal tropes of the Greek myths * Daily Mail *
Rivals House of the Dragon in conspiracies and feminine brutality. Here is a complex and courageous woman, all flesh and blood, simmering with passion. Facing the grimmest of betrayals, Clytemnestra's ruthless desire for revenge powers a thrilling plot. This is an electrifying read that shocks and fascinates in equal measure -- LIZ FREMANTLE, the critically acclaimed author of QUEEN'S GAMBIT
A heroine of fierce spirit caught in a world ruled by men, finding a way through with a sharp, unquenchable courage. With the fire and spark of Madeline Miller and the depths of Mary Renault, Clytemnestra will keep you reading well into the small hours, and your dreams will be of worlds where women reach for the gods -- MANDA SCOTT

A passionate picture of a fiercely patriarchal society and her heroine's refusal to be bound by its
rules

* Sunday Times *
Clytemnestra, whose name has come to epitomise female wickedness, has found a worthy advocate in Costanza Casati and this fascinating Greek myth retelling . . . Casati brings the blood-soaked world of Greek mythology fully alive in this powerful novel * Woman & Home *
Costanza Casati renders a singularly vibrant Ancient Greece, absolutely alive with emotion and suspense. Casati reveals a Clytemnestra we've never met before: fiercely intelligent, passionate, and loving - and willing to do anything to avenge the ones she loves -- Naomi Krupitsky, New York Times bestselling author of THE FAMILY
A swift-paced telling of the story of Clytemnestra, the fierce but loving princess of often-brutal Sparta . . . The easy-to-follow storytelling and well-rounded characters in the novel really draw in the reader * i *
Ablaze with moments of deep tenderness and visceral ferocity, Casati's Clytemnestragives the phrase 'fight like a girl' its rightfully heroic and empowering meaning!Beautifully told in a style that pays nimble homage to classic Greek mythology, Clytemnestra is a rich and compelling read, and even more so for every woman who has ever had to fight to reclaim her power. A must-read! -- Buki Papillon, author of AN ORDINARY WONDER
Bold and elegant, this novel deconstructs Clytemnestra's infamy and then, with tremendous empathy and wisdom, reconstructs her into an enthrallingly complex figure filled with passion and spirit. This fiery tale of revenge and desire really is the stuff of legend -- Sarah Priscus, author of the critically-acclaimed GROUPIES
Powerful and sympathetic, Clytemnestrashines a light on Helen of Troy's overshadowed sister. Crafted with page-turning suspense, Casati spins a mesmerizing story of an ambitious warrior queen who must use all her skill to protect herself and those she loves from men who view women not as equals, but as pawns to be sacrificed upon the altars of lust, greed, and fame. An ancient and intriguing tale made fresh for today's 21st century battles -- Liz Michalski, author of DARLING GIRL: A NOVEL OF PETER PAN
A thrilling reimagining of an infamous Greek figure * RED *
A thrilling tale of power and prophecies, and the fierce Queen who fought back at those who wronged her * COSMOPOLITAN, 'The best books to look forward to in 2023' *
If magical mythological books call your name, Clytemnestra is the one for you * Glamour UK *
Swift-paced, straightforward storytelling, richly imagined characters. Timeless * Scotsman *

ISBN: 9780241554746

Dimensions: 220mm x 136mm x 46mm

Weight: 580g

480 pages