Rosewater

Book 1 of the Wormwood Trilogy, Winner of the Nommo Award for Best Novel

Tade Thompson author

Format:Paperback

Publisher:Little, Brown Book Group

Published:20th Sep '18

£8.99

Available for immediate dispatch.

Rosewater cover

***Winner of the Arthur C. Clarke Award***

Winner of the inaugural Nommo Award for Best Novel, Africa's first award for speculative fiction
Shortlisted for the Kitschie Award for Best Novel

John W. Campbell Award finalist for Best Science Fiction Novel


'A magnificent tour de force' Adrian Tchaikovsky

'Mind-expanding and utterly addictive' Mark Haddon

'Smart. Gripping. Fabulous!' Ann Leckie

'Mesmerising' M. R. Carey

'An astonishing book. I wish I'd written it' Lauren Beukes

Rosewater is a town on the edge. A community formed around the edges of a mysterious alien biodome, its residents comprise the hopeful, the hungry and the helpless - people eager for a glimpse inside the dome or a taste of its rumoured healing powers.

Kaaro is a government agent with a criminal past. He has seen inside the biodome, and doesn't care to again - but when something begins killing off others like himself, Kaaro must defy his masters to search for an answer, facing his dark history and coming to a realisation about a horrifying future.

Rosewater is the start of a vibrant and compellingly told trilogy by one of science fiction's most engaging new voices - perfect for fans of N. K. Jemisin's The Fifth Season, Ann Leckie's Ancillary Justice and Jeff Vandermeer's Southern Reach trilogy.

Mind-expanding and utterly addictive -- Mark Haddon author of THE CURIOUS INCIDENT OF THE DOG IN THE NIGHT-TIME
Smart. Gripping. Fabulous!
Mesmerising. There are echoes of Neuromancer and Arrival in here, but this astonishing debut is beholden to no-one
Hugely satisfying . . . a darkly beautiful gem
A magnificent tour de force, skilfully written and full of original and disturbing ideas
Hard-edged and utterly compelling
This series is going to be addictive. See you on the other side
An astonishing book. I wish I'd written it
A fiercely weird, breathtaking biopunk tale of alien invasion, Rosewater is ambitious and smart and very, very cool
Perfect for fans of William Gibson's NEUROMANCER, this twisty, captivating page-turner explores the fragility of the mind and how memory constructs identity
In addition to providing a gritty and intricately plotted science fiction mystery, Thompson's opening of the Wormwood Trilogy considers what it means to be human
As strange, vivid and intricate as the alien biosphere at its heart, Rosewater is a fabulous book and Tade Thompson is a writer of enormous heart and talent. Just brilliant
A strange and unsettling story of psychics, conspiracy, and alien invasion unlike anything I've read before. Masterfully constructed, brimming with ideas and slowly unfolding mystery, Rosewater hurt my brain in the best of ways
You've never been anywhere like Rosewater. And you've never seen an alien invasion like this. Tade Thompson will take you someplace incredible, full of unforgettable characters and deep insight. Rosewater cements his place as one of our our boldest and most exciting new writers
Breathtakingly smart prose
Rosewater asks you uncomfortable questions about what is right, what is wrong, what you'll tolerate, and what is human
A winning combination of science fiction invention, gritty plotting and sly wit * Dr Andrew M. Butler, Chair of Judges of Arthur C. Clarke Awards 2019 *

  • Winner of Nommo Award 2017 (UK)
  • Short-listed for The Kitschies Red Tentacle 2019 (UK)
  • Short-listed for The Arthur C. Clarke Award 2019 (UK)

ISBN: 9780356511368

Dimensions: 198mm x 128mm x 30mm

Weight: 289g

416 pages