Jay's Guide to Crushing It

Ruby Clyde author

Format:Paperback

Publisher:Scholastic

Published:3rd Aug '23

£8.99

Available for immediate dispatch.

Jay's Guide to Crushing It cover

  “A warm, witty and touching romantic comedy” - The Guardian It isn't easy working out who you like when you're still working out who you are. Jay - sorry, Jennifer - and her family move to a new town for a fresh start, after bullying at her last school went too far. Jennifer's mum insists that she do things differently, so gone are her jeans, T-shirts, skateboard and short hair. Jennifer want to keep her mum happy, so she follows Mum's plan to start looking and acting like a girl. But it soon starts to wear on Jennifer, and she starts leading a double life, dressing in her brother's clothes to sneak out to go skateboarding in the local park. That's where Jennifer feels most like herself, where she can be Jay again. But then Jay gets tangled up in a crush with Alex, a closeted boy at the skate park who thinks Jay is a boy. But is her friend Mina flirting with Jay ... as a girl? Can Jay keep their different worlds from colliding? A romantic comedy that shows readers that sometimes the basics can be quite complicated! Hilarious and heartfelt, this novel is perfect for fans of Heartstopper, Felix Ever After, I Kissed Shara Wheeler and Hani and Ishu's Guide to Fake Dating. Ruby Clyde is a rising talent, known for their comedy writing and acclaimed performances as half of the comedy duo Shelf   Praise for Jay's Guide to Crushing It "The word ‘heartwarming’ is overused when it comes to teen love but Clyde’s debut, about a teenager who is forced to dress more like a girl when they move to a new school, is genuinely that… This sweet and tender romance will offer hope to all teenagers who feel constrained by societal and parental expectations.” THE BOOKSELLER – ONE TO WATCH REVIEW

ISBN: 9780702325076

Dimensions: 128mm x 194mm x 32mm

Weight: 220g

304 pages