To celebrate our birthday we’re offering 10% off all books throughout July!Discount will be applied automatically at checkout.
This is a special Signed Independent Bookshop Edition, and has very limited quantity available

Shy Creatures Signed Independent Bookshop Edition

Clare Chambers author

Format:Hardback

Publisher:Orion Publishing Co

Publishing:29th Aug '24

£20.00

This title is due to be published on 29th August, and will be despatched as soon as possible.

This hardback is available in another edition too:

Shy Creatures cover

This independent bookshop edition will be signed with a letter from Clare and special endpapers.

PREORDER SHY CREATURES: the masterful new novel from Clare Chambers about love, family and the joy of freedom Coming August 2024 A novel about love, family and the joy of freedom from the award-winning author of Small Pleasures, perfect for fans of Sarah Winman and Maggie O'Farrell. In all failed relationships there is a point that passes unnoticed at the time, which can later be identified as the beginning of the decline. For Helen it was the weekend that the Hidden Man came to Westbury Park. Croydon, 1964. Helen Hansford is in her thirties and an art therapist in a psychiatric hospital where she has been having a long love affair with Gil: a charismatic, married doctor. One spring afternoon they receive a call about a disturbance from a derelict house not far from Helen's home. A thirty-seven-year-old man called William Tapping, with a beard down to his waist, has been discovered along with his elderly aunt. It is clear he has been shut up in the house for decades, but when it emerges that William is a talented artist, Helen is determined to discover his story. Shy Creatures is a life-affirming novel about all the different ways we can be confined, how ordinary lives are built of delicate layers of experience, the joy of freedom and the transformative power of kindness.

ISBN: 9781399602556-SIB

Dimensions: 240mm x 156mm x 30mm

Weight: 350g