To celebrate our birthday we’re offering 10% off all books throughout July!Discount will be applied automatically at checkout.
This is a special Signed Indie Exclusive Edition, and has very limited quantity available

The Cautious Traveller's Guide to The Wastelands Signed Indie Exclusive Edition

Be transported by the most exciting debut of 2024

Sarah Brooks author

Format:Hardback

Publisher:Orion Publishing Co

Published:20th Jun '24

£16.99

Available to order, but very limited on stock - if we have issues obtaining a copy, we will let you know.

This hardback is available in another edition too:

The Cautious Traveller's Guide to The Wastelands cover

The indie exclusive edition will be signed, have exclusive white boards, gold foiled detailing and an exclusive bookmark.

The extraordinary and engrossing novel set onboard the Trans-Siberian Express - perfect for fans of Piranesi, Babel, Stacey Halls and Jessie Burton - available to pre-order now!It is said there is a price that every passenger must pay. A price beyond the cost of a ticket.It is the end of the 19th Century and the world is awash with marvels. But there is nothing so marvellous as the Wastelands: a terrain of terrible miracles that lies between Beijing and Moscow.Nothing touches this abandoned wilderness except the Great Trans-Siberian Express: an impenetrable train built to carry cargo across continents, but which now transports anyone who dares to cross the shadowy Wastelands.On to the platform steps a curious cast of characters: a grieving woman with a borrowed name, a famous child born on the train and a disgraced naturalist, all heading for the Great Exhibition in Moscow.But the old rules are changing, and there are whispers that the train isn't safe. As secrets and stories begin to unravel the passengers and crew must survive their journey through the Wastelands together, even as something uncontrollable seems to be breaking in . . .

I was completely transported by this book, lost in its world and mysteries, astounded by its beauty, and full of admiration for its humanity. I loved every second I spent with it, and urge everybody to pick up a copy. It's an astonishing journey -- STUART TURTON, bestselling author of THE SEVEN DEATHS OF EVELYN HARDCASTLE
A journey both unnerving and powerful, which thunders along at breathtaking speed, abounding with mysteries and marvels. Be warned - once you step into The Cautious Traveller's Guide to the Wastelands, you'll never want to disembark -- Samantha Shannon, author of THE BONE SEASON
This is a wild and wonderful journey; gloriously imaginative and completely captivating. Rich in allure, intrigue and suspense, it's a ride that readers will never want to end -- Jennifer Saint, #1 bestselling author of ARIADNE
The Cautious Traveller's Guide to the Wasteland is mysterious and clever and brilliant -- NATASHA PULLEY, bestselling author of THE WATCHMAKER OF FILIGREE STREET
Exceptional. Strange, addictive, immersive, it's a steampunk Piranesi meets His Dark Materials -- Jennie Godfrey, author of THE LIST OF SUSPICIOUS THINGS
I hugely enjoyed The Cautious Traveller's Guide to the Wastelands; it's like a steampunk Solaris -- LAWRENCE NORFOLK, author of JOHN SATURNALL’S FEAST
Asks us to reconsider our place within the natural world amid a backdrop of capitalism and empire. . . thrilling and transcendent -- RITA CHANG-EPPIG, author of DEEP AS THE SKY, RED AS THE SEA
Richly imaginative, profoundly allegorical, and utterly propulsive, I loved THE CAUTIOUS TRAVELLER'S GUIDE TO THE WASTELANDS. With impeccable pacing and elegant storytelling, this novel is pure delight. Though all on the same train, each character takes a different journey and it is most marvellous to join in as they travel the Wastelands to reach their final destinations. Bravo! All aboard for a captivating and transformative adventure! -- MELISSA FU, author of PEACH BLOSSOM SPRING
A spellbindingly original and totally engrossing book; I so much want to ride that train! -- SHARON BOLTON, author of THE FAKE WIFE
I loved this book . . . deserves to become an instant classic -- EMMA KAVANAGH, author of TO CATCH A KILLER

ISBN: 9781399607537-SIE

Dimensions: 240mm x 156mm x 40mm

Weight: 646g

384 pages