Medusa

A beautiful and profound retelling of Medusa’s story

Jessie Burton author

Format:Paperback

Publisher:Bloomsbury Publishing PLC

Published:2nd Feb '23

£9.99

Available for immediate dispatch.

Medusa cover

A dazzling feminist retelling of the Greek myth from the internationally bestselling author of The Miniaturist

SHORTLISTED FOR THE YOTO CARNEGIE MEDAL--_ 'A beautiful and profound retelling' - Madeline Miller, author of The Song of Achilles and Circe'Gives the serpent-headed monster of myth a powerful and haunting humanity' - Jennifer Saint, author of Ariadne and Elektra--_If I told you that I’d killed a man with a glance, would you wait to hear the rest? The why, the how, what happened next? Monster. Man-hater. Murderess. Forget everything you’ve been told about Medusa. Internationally bestselling author Jessie Burton flips the script in this astonishing retelling of Greek myth, illuminating the woman behind the legend at last. Exiled to a far-flung island after being abused by powerful Gods, Medusa has little company other than the snakes that adorn her head instead of hair. Haunted by the memories of a life before everything was stolen from her, she has no choice but to make peace with her present: Medusa the Monster. But when the charmed and beautiful Perseus arrives on the island, her lonely existence is blown apart, unleashing desire, love... and betrayal. Adapted from the hardback illustrated by Olivia Lomenech-Gill, this paperback edition is perfect for readers who loved Circe and Ariadne, as Medusa comes alive in a new version of the story that history set in stone long ago. --_ '… a must-read for women of all ages' - Red magazine 'Utterly transporting'- Guardian Books of the Year '… an impressive addition to the shelves of feminist retellings, balancing rage with beautiful storytelling' - Irish Times

A beautiful and profound retelling ...a powerfully feminist, elegaic and original twist on this old story. The book tackles pain and trauma without flinching, but its message is ultimately one of joy and hope * Madeline Miller *
Utterly transporting * Guardian Books of the Year *
A beautiful and compassionate retelling that gives the serpent-headed monster of myth a powerful and haunting humanity ... Medusa's vulnerability, strength and journey of self-acceptance is one that will stay with me * Jennifer Saint *
[A] beguiling, lyrical, but also relatable retelling of the myth of Medusa ... [that] reclaims her both as an ordinary teenage girl who was exploited, brutalised then punished and also as a feminist icon who refuses to be a victim when she can be a proud survivor ... Medusa is a must read for women of all ages * Red Magazine 'Best Books to Read This October' *
Destined to become as much an artefact of our own age as it is an illumination of the ancient past [...] bracing and powerful * Guardian *
Immerse yourself in Jessie Burton's poetic, powerful reclamation of Medusa's story * Harper's Bazaar *
This book is a beautiful excavation, uncovering the girl beneath the gorgon, the power within the punished. Exquisitely told,Medusa stole my heart from its first fierce lines * Mary Watson *
Easily my read of the year. Sheer perfection from start to finish * Catherine Doyle *
A thought-provoking and gorgeously illustrated retelling * Daily Mail Christmas Roundup *
Filled with vulnerability, raw emotion, betrayal and self-acceptance, this is a story that transcends its ancient time into a surprisingly relevant tale for girls today * i *
Fierce and tender and full of heart; the reclamation of self that Medusa is owed, the version of the myth that deserves to be told, passed girl to girl, painted across walls and screamed from rooftops * Melinda Salisbury *
I loved this story of survival, healing and bravery of all kinds. A moving retelling that will hold so much appeal for teens but also captivate adult readers of Circe and Ariadne * Amy McCulloch *
This glorious retelling of MEDUSA will stay with me for a very long time. The writing is stunning, as one might expect with Jessie Burton, and the story feels searingly, heartbreakingly relevant for the world we live in. It’s a work of art * Louise O’Neill *
[Medusa] refreshes an ancient myth in a way that empowers young women. If you enjoyed Pat Barker's The Silence of the Girls, this is one for your Christmas List * Woman&Home *
Medusa is an impressive addition to the shelves of feminist retellings, balancing rage with beautiful storytelling * Irish Times *
A magnificent retelling of the Gorgon we know the most - Medusa - this title shows you the woman behind the myth * Buzzfeed *
Burton turns one of Greek mythology's most contested figures into a heroine fit for modern fiction * Emily Bearn, Oldie *
[A] haunting reimagining ... Burton’s take on the traditional adversaries humanizes both characters, blurring boundaries between hero and monster * Publisher's Weekly *
A gorgeous gift. The writing is beautiful, the story heartbreakingly relevant * Louise O'Neill, Irish Examiner *
A fiercely feminist undercurrent fuels Medusa's unflinching voice * Shelf Awareness *

ISBN: 9781526662408

Dimensions: unknown

Weight: unknown

208 pages