Sheila Heti – Alphabetical Diaries

WithSheila Heti
In conversation withAnahit Behrooz

At: The Portobello Bookshop

On:21st May 2024, 7:00pm - 8:00pm

Attendance options:

Sheila Heti – Alphabetical Diaries at The Portobello Bookshop

We're thrilled to welcome Sheila Heti to the bookshop to discuss her latest book, Alphabetical Diaries. It's a confessional work of non-fiction from the award-winning, beloved author of Pure Colour and Motherhood. Heti will be in conversation with fellow writer Anahit Behrooz.

This event will take place in the bookshop with an in-person audience, as well as a livestream for attendees watching from home. There will be a signing after the event.

In-person vouchers can be redeemed on the night of the event against a single copy of Alphabetical Diaries – we will have a list of attendees with vouchers to be redeemed. Please note that only one voucher can be redeemed per book. Livestream vouchers are valid until the day after the event and can be redeemed on the website against a single copy of Alphabetical Diaries.

Please note that Alphabetical Diaries is published on 6th February. If you have signed up for a Book & In-Person or a Book & Livestream option and would like to receive your copy ahead of the event on Tuesday 21st May, please get in touch via our contact form and we'll be happy to help.

About Alphabetical Diaries:

‘A book about how difficult it is to change, why we don’t want to, and what is going on in our brain. A book can be about more than one thing, like a kaleidoscope, it can have many things that coalesce into one thing, different strands of a story, the attempt to do several, many, more than one thing at a time, since a book is kept together by its binding. A book like a shopping mart, all the selections. A book that does only one thing, one thing at a time. A book that even the hardest of men would read. A book that is a game.’

Sheila Heti kept a record of her thoughts over a ten-year period, then arranged the sentences from A to Z. In the vein of Joe Brainard’s I Remember and Edouard Levé’s Autoportrait, passionate and reflective, joyful and despairing, these are the Alphabetical Diaries.

Please note: Tickets for our events are non-refundable. Professional photography and videography may take place during this event. Thank you for your understanding.

Participants:

Sheila Heti Author

Sheila Heti is the author of eleven books, including the novels Pure Colour, Motherhood, and How Should a Person Be?, which New York magazine deemed one of the New Classics of the twenty-first century. Her books have been translated into twenty-four languages. She lives in Toronto, Canada. Alphabetical Diaries is her first book with Fitzcarraldo Editions.

Anahit Behrooz Chair

Anahit Behrooz is a writer, editor and critic based in Edinburgh. She is the author of BFFs: The Radical Potential of Female Friendship and works as Books Editor and Events Editor at The Skinny. Her writing has appeared in the likes of AnOther Magazine, Little White Lies, gal-dem and Girls on Tops among others.

The venue

The Portobello Bookshop

46 Portobello High Street
Edinburgh
EH15 1DA

Telephone: 0131 629 6756

Website: www.theportobellobookshop.com


Wheelchair Access

We have a ramp at the front of the shop which has a ratio of 1:10 and loading capacity of 300kg, and so should be able to be used by most wheelchair users or those with mobility vehicles. The front doors are fully automated. Our shop interior is designed to allow access throughout for wheelchair users and prams, though please note there is only 700mm wide clearance to access the staff toilet.

Sound

We use a PA system to enhance the audio at our live events. We also have a hearing loop system installed, if you’d like to use our loop system during an event please let us know and we’ll make sure we have it setup and connected to the live audio feed during the event. If you wish to attend an event and require BSL interpretation, please give us a few weeks notice and we’ll do our best to arrange an interpreter.