To celebrate our birthday we’re offering 10% off all books throughout July!Discount will be applied automatically at checkout.

Spoilt Creatures

An Observer Best Debut of 2024 - 'compelling, cultish and utterly feral' Alice Slater

Amy Twigg author

Format:Hardback

Publisher:Headline Publishing Group

Published:6th Jun '24

Should be back in stock very soon

Spoilt Creatures cover

An Observer top ten best new novelist for 2024

'
A simmering debut, heady with the possibilities of language and the righteousness of female rage'
Kiran Millwood Hargrave, author of The Mercies

'Lush and dreamlike - a sweltering novel, where the sunlight pulses with nightmarish dread'
Colin Walsh, author of Kala

'A modern-day Dionysian cult of women in the woods - haunting and exhilarating'
Jennifer Saint, author of Ariadne

'Emma Cline's The Girls meets Lord of the Flies . . . compelling, cultish and utterly feral'
Alice Slater, author of Death of a Bookseller
______

They thought they knew everything about us. The kind of women we were.

It was a place for women. A remote farm tucked away in the Kent Downs. A safe space.

When Iris - newly single and living at home with her mother - meets the mysterious and beguiling Hazel, who lives in a women's commune, she finds herself drawn into the possibility of a new start away from the world of men who have only let her down. Here, at Breach House, the women can be loud and dirty, live and eat abundantly, all while under the leadership of their gargantuan matriarch, Blythe.

But even among the women, there are power struggles, cruelty and transgressions that threaten their precarious way of life. When a group of men arrives on the farm, the commune's existence is thrown into question, hurtling Iris and the other women towards an act of devastating violence.

Fierce and unapologetic, Spoilt Creatures is an intoxicating debut about transgression, sisterhood and the seductive nature of obsession. It pulls back the skin of patriarchal violence and examines the female rage that lurks beneath.
______

⭐ Readers are loving Spoilt Creatures: ⭐

'I could not recommend this more if I tried... A powerful, remarkable debut novel filled with sublime prose, a warm quiet queerness, and a feral female rage' ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

'
Simply breathtaking, this book was unstoppable' ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

'When I tell you I absolutely devoured this book, I mean it. She's sapphic, she's feral, and she's very difficult to put down' ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐...

A simmering debut,heady with the possibilities of language and the righteousness of female rage -- Kiran Millwood Hargrave, author of 'The Mercies'
Lush and dreamlike - a sweltering novel, where the sunlight pulses with nightmarish dread -- Colin Walsh, author of 'Kala'
A modern-day Dionysian cult of women in the woods - haunting, exhilarating and full of female rage -- Jennifer Saint, author of 'Ariadne'
This lusciously verdant novel is about female identity and obsession, desire and autonomy. It asks important questions about what we owe, and to who. It is rich in grit and dirt, in sensuality and oblivion, working towards a complicated and devastating end -- Lara Williams, author of Supper Club
Emma Cline's The Girls meets Lord of the Flies, Spoilt Creatures is compelling, cultish and utterly feral. I'm drinking the Amy Twigg Kool-Aid, and it tastes like blood and rotten summer berries. A firecracker of a debut!" -- Alice Slater, author of 'Death of a Bookseller'
A sun-drenched, blood-soaked fever dream of a novel. Amy Twigg's prose is as exact as her setting and characters are wild, and she unflinchingly portrays female rage in its full, terrible glory -- Erin Kelly, author of The Skeleton Key
A powerful, angry, dark and compelling feminist debut novel. It pulls you in to the visceral world of the women in the commune and it shocks and moves you. Beautifully written -- Georgina Moore, author of 'The Garnett Girls'
An intimate and intense tale of how a safe haven can become a dangerous place, told with much insight and humanity -- Ewan Morrison, author of 'Nina X'
Earthy and visceral, Spoilt Creatures is a depiction of female physicality unlike any I've read before -- Ben Tufnell, author of 'The North Shore'
This is a book that sinks its claws in and doesn't let go. Filled with atmosphere and incredible prose, it's compulsive reading right up until its terrible, inevitable end -- Jennie Godfrey, author of 'The List of Suspicious Things'
A gripping, beautifully imagined reflection on women and anger - I couldn't put it down -- Emily Howes, author of 'The Painter's Daughters'
Spoilt Creatures is a poignant exploration of loss, female anger, and just how far we can each be pushed. The book is sensual and sinister and achingly sad. A chilling cautionary tale, it's perfect for fans of The Girls by Emma Cline -- Flora Carr, author of The Tower
The most talked-about debut of 2024. It's the perfect find for fans of Sophie Mackintosh and Julia Armfield * Stylist *
Amy Twigg's striking debut offers a new twist on the cult narrative... Twigg writes perceptively about loneliness and disconnection and the appeal of a haven from "the malfunctioning world of indecision and patriarchy" * Observer *
If there's one debut you read this year, make sure it is Spoilt Creatures. A story that is dripping in satire, female rage and cultish obsession, this is a read in one sitting kind of book... There is such a surreal, dreamlike quality to the prose, which is rich with atmosphere and fierce with its brute power. Twigg is here to stay * Glamour *
A fascinating blend of human vulnerability and grimy delights -- Camilla Grudova * Telegraph *
A firecracker of a debut... expect power struggles and female rage * Elle *
An extremely accomplished debut * Good Housekeeping *
With rising tension, this is a really strong debut and if, like me, you are fascinated with cults, you will devour it * Prima Magazine *
For fans of The Girls * Grazia *
This rivetingly dark debut stands outamong a new generation of novelists working under the spell of the 20th-century horror writer Shirley Jackson, whose chilling tales portray the violent urges simmering beneath civilised norms... Twigg's sinister portrait of brain-washing unspools in the manner of a true-crime testimony, narrated with masterful control and teasing us with hints of the devastatingly brutal climax to come, as the novel's doomy cadences generate maximal dread * Daily Mail *
Amy Twigg's debut - about an all-female commune where things get sinister - is gripping * Fabulous Magazine *
Twigg's storytelling isboth captivating and unsettling, drawing readers into the complex emotional landscapes of her characters. The narrative unfolds slowly under the oppressive summer sun, building to a gripping climax * Scotsman *
Twigg's storytelling is captivating yet unsettling, drawing readers into a complex emotional landscape of characters - 9/10 * Daily Mirror *

ISBN: 9781035407910

Dimensions: 238mm x 156mm x 36mm

Weight: 540g

336 pages