To celebrate our birthday we’re offering 10% off all books throughout July!Discount will be applied automatically at checkout.
This is a special Signed First Edition, and has very limited quantity available

Bright I Burn Signed First Edition

Molly Aitken author

Format:Hardback

Publisher:Canongate Books

Published:6th Jun '24

£16.99

Available for immediate dispatch.

This hardback is available in another edition too:

Bright I Burn cover

In thirteenth-century Ireland, a woman with power is a woman to be feared.

When a young Alice Kyteler sees her mother wither under the constraints of family responsibilities, she vows that she won't suffer the same fate. Soon Alice discovers she has a flair for making money, and builds a flourishing business. But as her wealth and stature grow, so too do the rumours about her private life. By the time she has moved on to her fourth husband, a blaze of local gossip and resentment culminates in an accusation that could prove fatal.

Inspired by the first recorded person in Ireland to have been condemned as a witch, Bright I Burn gives voice to a woman lost to history, who dared to carve her own space in a man's world.

Extraordinary . . . Some of the best prose I've read -- ELAINE FEENEY
Vividly recreates medieval Ireland, its challenges and customs, its increasingly influential clergy, its gossiping townspeople. There's an ever-encroaching sense of death and violence, whether in the harsh natural world or the brutal world of men. Amid this, Alice is a driven and often ruthless woman * * Irish Times * *
Spellbinding witch literature . . . A stunning rendition of one fierce Irish woman's voice pitted against the patriarchal power constructs of Medieval Ireland -- ANYA BERGMAN
Aitken is a distinct, singular, stunning voice in historical fiction, and Bright I Burn is a triumph. It took my breath away -- JENNY MUSTARD
A gorgeous, blazing novel, that makes history crackle to life. Fans of Maggie Farrell's Hamnet or A.K. Blakemore's The Manningtree Witches will love Aitken's complex, sensual anti-heroine -- CLARE POLLARD
I was captivated. Every sentence reads like poetry. A stunning, magical, beguiling book -- HUMA QURESHI
Gripping, poetic, a glorious story of a remarkable woman's passion and her revenge -- LOUISA REID
Beautifully told, full of passion and fire, Aitken evokes a vivid sense of time and place through her powerful depiction of a woman determined to maintain her position in a society driven by men. Stunning -- JENNY QUINTANA
An incandescent story, ablaze with the passion and determination of a woman centuries ahead of her time -- POLLY CROSBY
A lushly fevered tale of marriage, murder and moneylending . . . Haunting and powerful -- JANE HEALEY

ISBN: 9781786898388-SF

Dimensions: 222mm x 140mm x 27mm

Weight: 408g

304 pages

Main