On Silver Tides

Sylvia Bishop author

Format:Paperback

Publisher:Andersen Press Ltd

Published:1st Feb '24

£8.99

Available for immediate dispatch.

On Silver Tides cover

Full of heart, drama and beauty, this sweeping fantasy inspired by ancient folklore will draw you into a secret world within Britain’s waterways. 'This book is a gift of rare imagination and luminous writing. A classic in the making’ KATYA BALEN ‘I loved this book so much. It feels like a contemporary classic’ ALICE WINN ‘Bishop’s writing transforms Britain into a magical network of rivers, channels and lochs that will fill you with wonder’ ANN SEI LIN Kelda has always protected her little sister Isla from danger on the rivers, and from the suspicions of their community. For Isla cannot breathe underwater – and so her very existence is forbidden by silvermen’s Lore. Now the rivers of England are growing sick: monstrous creatures are awakening and a fierce torrent of blame falls upon Kelda’s family. When betrayal comes, the sisters escape on a desperate journey upstream. Joining forces with a mysterious boy, Kelda discovers the darkest depths of her kind’s secret history. But to save both her sister and the very life of Britain’s waterways, Kelda will have to make a sacrifice – one that will change her life forever. Cover art by Thy Bui

"Timely in its theme of protecting our rivers and streams, it also has the timeless power and craftsmanship of a classic" -- Nicolette Jones * The Sunday Times, Book of the Week *
"This book is a gift of rare imagination and luminous writing. I haven’t read something so original and immersive in a long time. On Silver Tides is a classic in the making and I loved every word" -- Katya Balen
"Sure to be a future classic... A brilliant fantasy with folklore and mythological monsters woven into the narrative. Fans of Frances Hardinge and Katherine Rundell's Impossible Creatures will adore On Silver Tides" * The Bookseller, Book of the Month February 2024 *
"I loved this book so much. It feels to me like a contemporary classic: thoughtful, literary, with clear and gorgeous prose, yet urgent and relevant. It touches painlessly and obliquely on our own troubled relationship with the environment, but above all it’s a great story with vivid, complex and lovable characters. The world-building reminded me of Susanna Clarke in its rich and playful inventiveness. I absolutely loved it and can’t wait to read more by Sylvia Bishop!" -- Alice Winn
"On Silver Tides is a beautifully constructed book about the love of family and the importance of embracing what we don't understand. I was with Kelda through every triumph and betrayal, every hurt and heartbreak. Bishop's writing transforms Britain into a magical network of rivers, channels and lochs that will fill you with wonder" -- Ann Sei Lin

ISBN: 9781839133589

Dimensions: 198mm x 129mm x 20mm

Weight: 256g

320 pages